Mayor Sabina Places Southern Leyte Village Under ECQ


Punta village in Libagon, Southern Leyte was placed under enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) after a resident tested positive for the coronavirus disease 2019 (Covid-19).

Mayor Sabina Ranque on Friday issued Executive Order 27 imposing strict movement restrictions in Punta, just hours after the Department of Health announced the town’s 17th coronavirus patient, a locally stranded (LSI) individual from Cebu.

“This will allow our team to expedite the contact tracing activities in the said village. This will take effect until revoked or amended upon the recommendation of the municipal inter-agency task force,” Ranque said.

As directed, all residents are subject to home quarantine, especially senior citizens, children, pregnant women, lactating mothers, and immunocompromised persons.

Ranque said only those with a quarantine pass are allowed to avail of basic needs outside their homes.

Health personnel, emergency responders, and those who provide goods and food services are allowed entry in Punta village.

Workers outside the community will be allowed entry and exit provided they are not identified as a close contact of a resident who has tested positive. They must also present a health declaration form, a quarantine pass, and proof of employment.

“Entry and exit points of these areas will be strictly monitored 24/7 by village watchmen, officials, and our local police,” Tan said.

The directive also strictly imposes mandatory wearing of face masks, liquor ban, observance of safe physical distancing, and the 8 p.m. to 5 a.m. curfew for residents and business establishments.

Since the outbreak of Covid-19 in the country, Eastern Visayas has confirmed a total of 496 cases, including 132 recoveries and three deaths.

The region’s confirmed cases have significantly increased since the start of June due to the testing of returning residents, including overseas Filipino workers and LSIs.

This prompted the Department of the Interior and Local Government to suspend the travel of LSIs to the region from June 26 to July 9, upon approval of the national task force against Covid-19. (PNA)